Texas Society of Anesthesiologists
  • TSA Statement on FTC/USAP Lawsuit

    Texas Society of Anesthesiologists (TSA) is a professional society comprised exclusively of individual member anesthesiologists. Our members work in different clinical and business arrangements, including members who are owners of their practice, who are employed by other physicians, and who are faculty at our various medical schools. TSA has no corporate or group members. 

    The TSA is aware of the Federal Trade Commission’s lawsuit against US Anesthesia Partners (USAP), a national anesthesiology group. Some of our members are employed by or are partners of USAP. Within the TSA, we have USAP members who are leaders and are active in our professional society. They volunteer their own time to improve patient safety for all Texans. By reputation, USAP members provide direct safe and high-quality anesthesia care across Texas.

    The TSA believes every party is entitled to a fair and balanced legal process. TSA has no additional information or comments about the litigation at this time.

     George Williams, M.D., FASA, FCCM, FCCP, TSA Immediate Past President & Amr E. Abouleish, M.D., FASA, TSA President-Elect

  • Welcome to Texas Society of Anesthesiologists


    It shall be the purpose of the Texas Society of Anesthesiologists to advance, promote and support the practice of the medical specialty of Anesthesiology in the State of Texas.

    The TSA is a voluntary, non-profit association of over 3,800 members interested in the medical specialty of Anesthesiology and it is a component of the American Society of Anesthesiologists.

    TSA provides CME programs; advocates at the legislative, regulatory and legal arenas; and through its representation at the ASA, TMA, and AMA, it insures that TSA’s voice is heard at the state and national levels.


  • Udaya Padakandla, MD

    TSA President 2023-2024
    Udaya Padakandla, MD

    It is with tremendous humility and a sense of gratitude that I assume the role of Presidency of the Texas Society of Anesthesiologists. It is a great honor to follow in the footsteps of Dr. George Williams II, whose dynamic and overachieving term as President indeed leaves some very big shoes to fill!!   I would consider myself as having succeeded in my term by next year if I could accomplish a fraction of what he did during this year.

    Read Dr. Padakandla's President's Acceptance Speech

No Surprises Act

Information and Resources

Read the latest TSA Newsletter
TSA Member Spotlight


Vijaya Gottumukkala MD, FASA

TSA wishes to Congratulate Dr. Gottumukkala, incoming President of ASER

James F Arens, MD

TSA wishes to Congratulate Dr. Jim Arens on his selection as a "Faculty Living Legend" by the University of Texas Medical Branch-Galveston.
UTMB Faculty Living Legends

The Doctor Chuck Bauer Award

Presented by the TX Div of Emergency Management, recognizes medical professionals and their contributions to emergency management through incident response, disaster planning or other provision of healthcare or instructional preparedness.

2020: Dr. John Zerwas
2021: Dr. Ray Callas

McGovern Medical School House Staff Association
2022-2023 UT House Staff Association Council

Dr. Ryan Lord, President
Dr. Maggie Swift, Vice President
Dr. Nik Glenesk, Member at Large
Dr. D'Andrea (Dede) Caesar, Representative for Diversity & Inclusion.
Info on House Staff Association

TSA Member Alerts

TSA-START (Scholarly Targeted Anesthesiology Research for Texas)

  • Grant information and application

 ASA Be the Solution Toolkit: Sell Your C-Suite on the Value and Leadership of Anesthesiologists

  • Health Care Exec Outreach Toolkit
  • Be the Solution Monitor Article

ASA Surprise Billing Resources

Archived Alerts



American Society of Anesthesiologists

Anesthesia Quality Institute

Exhibitor Information

TSA 2023 Annual Meeting

Welcome Reception and Lanyards Sponsors

Metro Anesthesia
Independent Physicians Network


Graphium Health



Pacira Biosciences


Educational Grant Sponsor: 

Audio Digest

TSA 2023 Exhibitors

  • Ambu
  • Archibald & Associates, Inc.
  • Avanos
  • B.Braun Medical
  • Baxter
  • Chiesi
  • CHRISTUS Health
  • CSL Behring
  • Draeger Medical
  • Eagle Pharmaceuticals
  • Eastern Account System
  • Flat Medical
  • Flexicare, Inc.
  • Fusion Anesthesia Solutions
  • Getinge
  • Graphium Health
  • Hemosonics
  • HST Pathways
  • IDMed Corp.
  • Karl Storz
  • Laser Medics Rx

  • Medasense
  • Mediplus Ltd
  • MedPro Group
  • Medtronic
  • Merck
  • Mespere LifeSciences Inc.
  • Metropolitan Anesthesia Consultants
  • Mindray
  • MSN Healthcare Solutions
  • Retia Medical
  • SecureNetMD/ThinkSecureNet
  • Senzime
  • Systematic Capital Management
  • Texas Medical Liability Trust
  • Tri-Anim
  • Truist Bank
  • UBS Financial Services Inc.
  • US Anesthesia Partners
  • VBM Medical
  • Ventra Health
  • Zotec Partners